Helping us to Defy Gravity and Take Flight

Wicked is about to reach its tenth year on Broadway – which, in the world of musicals, is no mean feat. And to celebrate the milestone, they aren’t having Wicked day nor Wicked week, they have created an entire month in celebration of the musical phenomenon!

Wicked Australia - Lucy Durack (Glinda) & Jemma Rix (Elphaba) Photo Credit: Jeff Busby

Wicked Australia – Lucy Durack (Glinda) & Jemma Rix (Elphaba)
Photo Credit: Jeff Busby

Wicked holds a special place in the hearts of many people. Whether it is the moving storyline, the important lesson of friendship or the awesome music, it doesn’t matter. The sheer number of YouTube covers, fan art creations, pictures with the cast, fan letters – and even the number of articles that I have written about the musical – show the pivotal place it holds in society.

And what better way to celebrate this milestone than thanking a whole variety of fans in thirty different ways throughout the month of October? (And the fact that they have even been able to come up with thirty different ways to thank fans just shows how much effort they are putting in!)

So far Wicked has featured touching fan mail, the launch of a new website, a special video message to a fan who sent in a beautiful letter, a rousing chorus of ‘Happy Birthday’ to the October-born fans from the October-born cast members, a shout-out to a great fan video and a beautiful Elphaba costume. All of which not only personally thank the fans whose contributions were noted, but also show off the diverse and passionate community which surround this musical.

And by showing off this community, even if you don’t receive a personal message, all fans get that warm and fuzzy feeling from the time that the cast are taking to recognise the contribution of fans.

In light of Wicked saying thank you to its fans, I want to take this opportunity to say thank you to Wicked. I still remember seeing Wicked for the first time five years ago, and despite being in a pretty difficult place in my life, the important message of friendship and the beautiful music really resonated with me. It was at this point which I decided that I wanted to be involved in the theatre. Whether it was in the pit, performing on stage or simply doing their marketing, I just wanted to be part of such a wonderful community that could present material which deeply touched the people sitting in the audience.

And now that I have found my love of marketing, it is the inspiration that I received from Wicked all those years ago that drives my passion of getting new people into the theatre to have the same resonant experience I do every time I step through those doors.

So from me and from the wide community of people who have seen Wicked and been touched by the beautiful story . . . ‘Because I knew you, I have been changed for good’.

And I look forward to seeing what is coming up in the next 24 days!

