Being Thanked By A Bunch Of Con Men.

I never thought this day would come. I was just thanked by a bunch of con artists!

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels - Matt Hetherington (Freddy Benson) and Tony Sheldon (Lawrence Jameson) Photo Credit: Kurt Sneddon

Dirty Rotten Scoundrels – Matt Hetherington (Freddy Benson) and Tony Sheldon (Lawrence Jameson)
Photo Credit: Kurt Sneddon

Not literally, of course. But I did just receive an email from Lawrence Jameson, Freddy Benson (and one other shady character) thanking me for visiting Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.

There are two main reasons why all shows should do this. Firstly, it is polite as they have recognised the audience spent a considerable amount of money to see the show. But more importantly it keeps the show top of mind.

Consumers are exposed to so much advertising throughout each day that it is very easy to forget positive experiences with products.  It had been about a week after the show when I received the email and by that point I had already moved onto The Pirates of Penzance. But receiving this email that was cleverly designed to look like a postcard – you will know why if you see the show –the wonderful experience that I had at Dirty Rotten Scoundrels was rekindled.

And what am I doing now? I am writing about the show again even though I saw it a week ago – and the same thing will happen for other consumers who saw the show. Reminded of the fantastic experience (and it was a fantastic experience) they will be prompted to tell more people about it.

This all sounds pretty good, but the team at Dirty Rotten Scoundrels have found a way to add another level of excellence to this email!

A DISCOUNT!

I know that I am not alone when I say that I’m a sucker for cheap products. If I am getting extra value for a lower price then I will probably buy the product even if I don’t need it.

Well, this communication finishes off with a special code word that can be shared with your friends. This is a bit of genius because it allows previous patrons to appear as part of the inner theatrical circle to their friends. Seriously, we all love to be able to be part of an exclusive club – and here is an incentive to be able to emphasise your exclusivity to your friends. Ultimately this means more people will talk about it which is a BIG plus.

Alternatively, you could always (in the spirit of the show) harness your inner con man and keep the discount for yourself. And what a great incentive to return to the show that has been described as ‘the best musical to hit Sydney this decade!’

A while ago I wrote about The Lyric Theatre and Grease’s strategy of targeting customers before they even journeyed to the theatre through a special reminder email offering discounts and special offers at surrounding eateries and luxury services. Imagine if Dirty Rotten Scoundrels took on that idea and sent you one of these emails a week before and as well as their email week after the show.

You would certainly feel like you were getting your money’s worth and that is two whole weeks of free word-of-mouth publicity. Sounds pretty good to me!

