Marketing Lessons from ‘Miranda Sings’: Part 2

220px-ColleenBallinger2012Last night I had the pleasure of chatting to Colleen Ballinger about the marketing and promotion behind her Miranda Sings empire. And if she ever wants a break from playing Miranda, she has all the know-how to be a successful marketer!

YouTube is an environment with incredibly high turnover embodying the notion of ‘15 seconds of fame’. It is very easy to become lost in the huge volume of videos that are released every day. But Colleen Ballinger has some really innovative approaches to video creation and promotion which have paved the way to the superstar force that is Miranda Sings.

Matt: At the beginning of the show, you actively encourage the audience to video the show, tweet about the show and post their experiences on Facebook. What are your motives behind that?

Colleen: Well, I have always heard the announcement that you have to turn off your cameras at shows. No filming, no pictures. But what I do is on the internet, so I thought the best way to get other people to know who I was is to have huge audiences take pictures and tweet, Instagram and Facebook so that their followers would see the pictures and find out who I am.

Matt: Yeah, to get the word out. Now speaking of YouTube . . . What’s your big secret? On YouTube the turnover is incredibly quick but you have managed to stay relevant for four years. Do you have a big secret or is it just a lot of good luck?

Colleen: Maybe it’s a bit of both. I think the most important thing is to listen to the viewers and see what they want. I’m always reading the comments on YouTube, reading the Twitter posts, reading my Facebook posts from the fans and seeing what they want to see. As long as I keep making the footage that they want then they will keep coming back. I guess that is the big secret . . . Just making sure that the fans are happy. And that is the most important thing to me that I’m making them laugh.

Matt: Your Pentatonix collab video is one of my favourites. Are those kind of videos really crucial to keeping yourself relevant?

Colleen: I love the Pentatonix. I think so, but I think it’s a combination of a lot of things. I don’t think there is really one thing that makes you successful online. It’s a combination of listening to your fans, consistency – I post videos four times a week – making sure you are always on Twitter, always on Instagram and of course collaborations with other YouTubers. The Pentatonix was actually my first collab and now they are exploding.

Matt: Just one more question before I let you relax after your show tonight. I believe you just saw Dirty Rotten Scoundrels and King Kong. What did you think of those shows?

Colleen: Oh my god. The talent in Australia is amazing.  First of all, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels was so much fun and everyone in the cast was unbelievable. Then I saw King Kong last night and that blew my mind. The special effects were just out of this world. I woke up thinking ‘How did they do that?’. It was so cool!

And from the reviews that I have been hearing about last night’s Miranda Sings show, I have no doubt that the audience would have woken up this morning thinking about Colleen’s performance.

Her innovative approach to promotion is clearly working as her Australian tour shows completely sold out. And hopefully other shows will take notice of her dedication to her fans and the clever strategy that allows the audience to promote her concert to their networks because it is clearly very effective judging by the 599,653 subscribers and 67 million views!

Usually I would put a link to tickets at the end of this article, but there are none. They are completely sold out! So if you want to find out more about Miranda Sings or check out her latest uploads, visit her YouTube page.

