Australia, Get Ready to be Rocked!

Australians love rock. In fact, we love rock so much that one of our biggest tourism icons is one big rock. Our arenas are full of a rotating series of rockers from P!nk to Black Sabbath and there is endless demand from Australian audiences for more rock shows. Well, they are going to get it with the latest touring musical We Will Rock You returning to Sydney from April 2016 before embarking on a nation-wide tour. And the cast of this show jam packed with Queen hits has been announced today!

We Will Rock You

Written by Ben Elton, We Will Rock You creates a hilarious futurist comedy from 24 of Queen’s biggest hits including ‘We Are The Champions’, ‘I Want To Break Free’, ‘Somebody to Love’, ‘Killer Queen’, ‘Don’t Stop Me Now’, ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ and ‘We Will Rock You’. This musical hasn’t been made for traditional musical theatre fans. This one is for the rockers. The show aims to recreate the scale and spectacle of Queen’s iconic live performances with a band overseen by Music Supervisors Brian May and Roger Taylor from Queen.

Stepping into the big shoes of a character based on Freddie Mercury himself, Gareth Keegan (Pirates of Penzance, Jersey Boys, Next to Normal) will lead the cast as Galileo, a Bohemian dreamer who hears strange song lyrics in his head. Opposite Gareth will be Erin Clare (Heathers, Phantom of the Opera) as Scaramouche, a sarcastic and cynical Bohemian misfit with an attitude, who is the reincarnation of Brian May – but ‘he’s a babe’.

Joining these two leading performers are Australian rock legend Brian Mannix as an old hippy philosopher with an expertise in lost musical texts, Australian Idol winner Casey Donovan as the Killer Queen, Thern Reynolds (Rock of Ages, South Pacific) and Jaz Flowers (Hairspray, Heathers, Hot Shoe Shuffle) as Brit and Oz, alongside Simon Russell (Jack Irish, Neighbours) as Khashoggi, the Killer Queen’s right-hand man.

Rounding out the cast is an incredibly talented ensemble featuring Justin Anderson, Sheridan Anderson, Erinn Arnel, Michelle Barr, Hugh Barrington, Kyla Bartholomeusz, Sarah Clarke, Keane Fletcher, Scott McConnell, Suzie Melloy, Ruvarashe Ngwenya, Morgan Palmer, Joshua Russell, Ryan Sheppard, Leigh Sleightholme, Ashlee Smith, Thalia Smith, Mike Snell, Kate Thomas and Karla Tonkich with credits ranging from Wicked and Legally Blonde to Hot Shoe Shuffle.

The Australian tour will begin at Sydney’s Lyric Theatre on April 28th, before travelling to Brisbane’s Lyric Theatre on June 10th, Melbourne’s Regent Theatre from August 30th, the Crown Theatre in Perth and then back to Adelaide to end the season.

For more information on this production and to purchase tickets, visit